Friday, 24 February 2023 12:48

City of Houston commissions twelve new artworks for Bush Intercontinental Airport from Artists Across the Americas

The Mayor’s Office of Cultural Affairs (MOCA) is pleased to announce an investment of over four million dollars in the selection of 12 new site-specific art commissions for the new Mickey Leland International Terminal (MLIT) and the new International Central Processer (ICP) at George Bush Intercontinental Airport (IAH). The commissioned works are sponsored by Houston Airports (HAS) on behalf of the City of Houston through MOCA’s Civic Art Program.

The commissioned artworks will be new additions to the City of Houston’s Civic Art Collection and are expected to be installed and on view by the Spring of 2024. In line with the equity guidelines and ethos of the City’s Civic Art Program and considering the goals of the HAS, this effort sought concepts for art meant to enhance passengers’ experiences by highlighting ideas that are reflective of the international character of Houston.

For each of the six gates for MLIT, the City requested the submission of proposals from Houston-based artists to design, fabricate, and install a three-part installation addressing the upper and lower landings of six new international gates at the forthcoming airport facility. For all commissions, preference was given to artists not currently represented in the City of Houston Civic Art Collection.

This significant investment will provide a unique opportunity for our airport guests to experience art,” said Mario Diaz, Director of Aviation for the City of Houston. “The modern, functional and intuitive design of the new international terminal at IAH will be accentuated by these diverse works of art.”

The artists developing commissions for MLIT and ICP at IAH include: Reginald Adams, Miguel Arzabe, Carolina Caycedo, Marta Chilindron, Emilie Duval, Leslie Gaworecki, Marlo Saucedo, and Houston Poet Laureate Emanuelee “Outspoken” Bean, Graciela Hasper, Lovie Olivia, Gerardo Rosales, Regina Silveira, Nick Vaughn & Jake Margolin and Rafael Vargas-Suarez of Vargas-Suarez Universal.

Find more info on the artists developing commissions, nominators, panelists, and the selection process here


Read 111 times Last modified on Friday, 24 February 2023 12:50